Marty & Grace - Love/Hate

Thoughts, ideas, memories, you name it! Share your favorite stories, albums, tracks and more.

Marty & Grace - Love/Hate

Postby QueenSlick on Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:52 pm

I'm a newbie to the world of the Airplane. I've long since been a fan of Grace Slick but now currently showing greater appreciation for the group as a whole, rather than just the 'face' and lead singer.
Reading bits here and there (I've just ordered the book Got a Revolution) it seems Marty resented Grace in the group (maybe I've read it wrong) because she took most of the attention away from the others, being the sole female. Though being a huge Gracie fan, I can see why. She was pretty mesmerizing in concert and her improv during Woodstock (Somebody To Love) blows my mind.

I think together, Marty and Grace were a strong double act, and I'd like to see more of their stage performances together (though it's hard to track down specific ones on youtube)

Hello by the way!
Strawberry Sheets Forever
QueenSlick

Re: Marty & Grace - Love/Hate

Postby QueenSlick on Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:42 pm

Hey there. thanks for the link. Look forward to jumping on this long flight! :D

QueenSlick

Postby psychy on Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:38 am

QueenSlick wrote:Hey there. thanks for the link. Look forward to jumping on this long flight! :D

Hi there....welcome to the most psychedelic Plane on the planet :):):),,,,,,,,,,,,,I don't see much "hate" in that photo you posted up there :):):)
Imageù
psychy

Postby QueenSlick on Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:09 am

Hi! Thanks.

Love your sig pic of Grace and China doing their thing. F**k Fear!
QueenSlick

Postby MilkTrain on Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:11 pm

I think it was the media that focussed more on Grace Slick and that drew attention away from the rest of the band.If you listen to their music (overall)i dont think it sounds like she dominates.